SUPPORT AID PROJECTS FOR UKRAINE WITH THE PURCHASE OF A ROSENTHAL #peace Mug

The fascinating world of porcelain production

Basically, porcelain consists of three simple components, and yet the production, processing and finishing separate the simple from the special. On this page, we show you the steps our products go through, the craftsmanship required, the manufacturing methods and the processes used to decorate and finish our porcelain. You will discover that the production of white gold is not only an extremely complex and long process, but also that it still involves a great deal of craftsmanship and manual labour, despite the most modern production facilities. But above all - and this is what has distinguished our products for more than 140 years - it is thanks to the know-how, passion, attention to detail and wealth of experience of our 700 employees that each individual Rosenthal product is designed to impress with a very special formal and functional quality as well as white quality that makes your home unique.

Know-How and Passion


Our collections are manufactured in our porcelain factories "Rosenthal am Rothbühl" and "Thomas am Kulm". We have some of the most modern production facilities in the porcelain industry worldwide and, thanks to forward-looking investments, enable sustainable and resource-saving manufacturing.

But the best technology is worth nothing without skilled craftsmanship. Despite all the modernisation and automation, a large part of the manufacturing process is still done by hand: each production step - shaping, drying, firing, glazing, glaze firing, decoration and decor firing - requires special craftsmanship and technical know-how. Porcelain production is one of the industrial production processes with the highest vertical range of manufacture. And it is our passion.

700 people work at Rosenthal to create beautiful and functional products that are made with passion and attention to detail.

Rosenthal am Rothbühl factory, designed by W. Gropius

Porcelain production

Design and modelling

Rosenthal has been working for many decades together with renowned designers and artists in designing new products. A development division, which operates independently of production, known as the Creative Centre is in charge of the design evolution process from the first model through to the finished, decorated service. The Product Development Division with all its necessary workshops develops new creations for the Rosenthal, Rosenthal meets Versace, Thomas Hutschenreuther and Arzberg brands.


The work of the modellers

Modellers manually construct plaster models in close cooperation with the designers, which can be processed in every conceivable way. Round, symmetrical models are shaped from solid cylinders of plaster on the potter's wheel. Reliefs are engraved into the finished models. The modeller carves handles and spouts separately from plaster blocks. Since porcelain shrinks by approximately 12.5 % during firing and, while still hot and soft, sags somewhat through its own weight, the plaster models have to be made larger. Bulbous shapes, handles and spouts must be shaped at a steeper angle. As the degree of sagging cannot be calculated, a large amount of expertise and intuition are required.

Synthetic resin and plaster casting moulds

Once the delicate plaster moulds have been shaped to satisfaction, they are used to make the master moulds in a durable synthetic resin or in silicone. These are used in turn to make the negative plaster casting moulds. Plaster is used because it is porous and absorbs the excess moisture from the porcelain clay. A plaster casting mould can be used about 140 times. However, if the shape is in relief, the casting mould can only be used around 70 times.


Photo: First design drawings by Sebastian Herkner

Preparing the raw material

Hard-paste porcelain body is primarily made up of kaolin (50 %), feldspar (25 %) and quartz (25 %). These raw materials are crushed in large drum mills with added water and flint until they are finely ground and mixed. This liquid mixture is passed over a magnetic belt, which extracts iron particles, which would otherwise cause brown stains on the fired porcelain.

A fine mesh screen removes all other impurities. Most of the water is removed by a hydraulic press and a vacuum press sucks out the air. Now the porcelain is ready for moulding. Rosenthal is one of very few manufacturers who still produce porcelain body and glaze according to a secret formula

Production

Turning

The porcelain clay is portioned into relevant sizes and placed onto the plaster casting moulds for the cups, which are then inserted into the cup machine, a continuous moving track. A metal template is lowered and by turning shapes the inside of the cup.

Once the piece has dried, it shrinks from the plaster mould. The rough edges are trimmed with wet sponges until they are nicely rounded, smooth and even. The cup handles are cast separately. all casting marks are carefully removed by hand before the handles are attached to the cup.


Photo: Jolleying of mugs on the machines

Isostatic press moulding

Isostatic dust-press moulding of plates is another method. This involves a porcelain paste consisting of minute spray-dried granules. These granules are poured into the press mould and bond under high pressure. The press tool required is divided into two parts, the upper and the lower die. The upper die is used to shape the top of the item and has to be rigid. The lower die shapes the back of the item and is fitted with an elastic membrane to isostatically mould the pieces. When the upper and lower dies are closed, the granules are pumped into the hollow area inside using compressed air. The item is moulded under pressure of approximately 280 bar, thereby ensuring it is evenly bonded. Dust-pressed items have to be smoothed off around the rim only. The normal finishing process follows after that. Press moulding is a high efficient method and among its many advantages is a significant quality improvement in the production of plates and platters.

Slip casting

Porcelain items like teapots, handles, spouts, boxes, oval platters and figurines are shaped in plaster moulds. A porcelain slip is used for this purpose, the addition of a little water and other thinning ingredients making sure it can be poured. The two- or multi-sectioned plaster moulds absorb the water from the slip leaving an even layer of set clay on the mould wall, which is known as the body. Any remaining liquid slip is then poured out. Handles, spouts, cup feet and lid knobs are made separately and then attached to the actual body by hand, using the slip as a locating medium. Porcelain figurines are also assembled by hand from many separately cast pieces. The casting seams, visible on all pieces once the mould has been opened, are smoothed by hand with blades and sponges.


Photo: The plaster mould is filled with the liquefied porcelain paste, known as the slip.

Press casting

This method is used in the production of square and oval platters. The porcelain slip is pumped into a two-part, porous plastic mould and then put under pressure. The water escapes through the open pore canals of the plastic mould while the porcelain paste stays within. When finished, the mould opens automatically and a suction pad lifts out the pieces.


Photo: The cast and still very soft body leaves the plaster mould for the first time.

Firing

Biscuit Firing

After the raw porcelain has been pre-dried and biscuit fired at about 950 ̊C, it is no longer water soluble but still porous and water absorbent.

Glazing

The biscuit fired pieces are stamped with the logo of the company and then glazed. The glaze is immediately removed from the foot of the plates and the rim of the cups with wet sponges to prevent the porcelain from sticking to the base during the second firing. The glaze is a mixture of quartz, feldspar, some kaolin and a high proportion of different thinning agents. Because of its high content of quartz it produces a very hard surface when fired. With particularly delicate pieces (e.g. »Magic Flute« and Limited Edition Art), the glaze is applied using a special spraying process. The glaze melts when fired and fuses with the body before its pores close, creating an inseparable bond between the porcelain body and glaze.

Glost firing

In the glost firing process at temperatures of up to 1400 ̊ C the paste shrinks and becomes watertight. This causes vitrification, turning the substance into a hard, delicate, translucent porcelain. This process effects a chemical change in the porcelain item and also changes its contours. After glost firing, the porcelain is 12.5 % smaller (shrinkage) than when it was moulded. Even glost firing is done using a burn-off method nowadays in modern fast fire kilns or roller kilns.

Porcelain types

Hard porcelain

After the biscuit and glost firing processes, the porcelain is hard, impact resistant and translucent. Hard porcelain has the highest scratch resistance to stainless steel cutlery and is unaffected by acids, except hydrofluoric acid. Porcelain is weatherproof and does not change after the last firing, no matter how old it gets. It is suitable for use in the microwave oven with the exception of items decorated with precious metals (gold, platinum). The white colour of the porcelain is achieved by reduction firing. This means it is fired in an atmosphere of reduced oxygen.

Black porcelain

Black porcelain is a special Rosenthal product. As precious a porcelain as “porcelaine noire” should never be put in the dishwasher. It is best to wash it by hand in warm water and to dry it immediately with a soft cloth. Sustained contact of crockery with food containing lemon or acetic acid should be avoided as staining could occur. Black porcelain should also never be used in the microwave oven.

Processing and sorting

Grinding

The unglazed feet of the plates and contact surfaces of the porcelain are still rough even after the second firing. By grinding and polishing repeatedly they become smooth, pleasant to touch and dirt resistant.

Sorting

The undecorated porcelain, also called finished white ware, is carefully sorted by highly skilled personnel. The intrinsic characteristics of the materials and the ceramic production process, especially the firing, inevitably cause tolerances and minute deviations between individual pieces. The sorting process accurately separates out the items with such levels of deviation and discards altogether pieces with defects.

Decorating and finishing

Decorations

Through their colours, decorations on porcelain enliven the white of the material. A vase or a dinner service, richly decorated in gold, is an elegant and stately embellishment for formal occasions, whereas the same pieces decorated with a colourful floral pattern assume a friendly and cheerful character. Moreover, a variety of decorations appeal to different consumer tastes. Hence the Product Development Division offers a whole host of decorations created by renowned artists, using the strictest criteria in selecting the best designs.

Interesting facts

Aside from hand painting, there is a wide range of high-quality decorative methods available today. Artists' designs are scanned into a computer and reworked by an elaborate software programme in order to make them fit onto each piece of a dinnerware service so that they can then be transferred onto the three-dimensional shape. The character of the artist's signature is fully preserved. After this process, the designs are printed onto specially prepared paper spread with a layer of glue. This makes it easier to lift the colour decorations off the paper and onto the porcelain. The colours are applied onto the paper using the screen-printing method. Very finely meshed metal screens allow the colour to permeate only in desired areas. Each colour is printed separately, which means that a new screen has to be prepared each time. The different colours are printed one after the other and aligned exactly. Screen-printing allows a strong application of colour, which after firing produces a rich glow of colour. After printing, the transfer sheet is coated with a layer of lacquer. In order to decorate a porcelain piece, the decal is soaked in water to dissolve the layer of glue. The flimsy and wet colour film is then carefully applied to the porcelain.

Decorative transfers

The most frequently used technique for decorating porcelain is to apply a sheer, wet colour film. This process demands extreme precision, patience, a steady hand and a sharp eye. These days, decorative transfers are no longer used to decorate tableware alone, they are also applied to valuable limited porcelain editions, which cannot be painted by hand without altering the original design of the artist.

Hand painting

Lustre, gold and platinum bands, handles, spouts and gilded reliefs are all hand painted. after firing, fibreglass brushes are used to burnish the gold layer to a high gloss.


Photo: The iconic head of Medusa adorning the Rosenthal meets Versace collections is gilded by hand and looks brown in its unfired state.

Base colouring

When larger areas of a porcelain piece are to be coloured, the colour foundation is distributed evenly with a spray gun. All areas that are to remain white are varnished beforehand with a lacquer that must be removed after spraying. After removal of the lacquer layer and before firing, the white areas of the porcelain are cleaned carefully. Even the tiniest amounts of colour residue would turn into visible spots after firing.


Photo: Ensuring that the colour is applied evenly by hand requires a great deal of experience.

Combination matt – glossy

There are several methods to produce the combination matt – glossy.

  1. Matt glaze is sprayed onto the porcelain in a similar fashion to a colour base using a spray gun and then fired.
  2. Glazed porcelain can be made matt by sandblasting.
  3. The areas that are to remain matt and unglazed are covered with wax before being dipped into the glaze. The wax burns off during sharp firing.

Decoration firing

High temperature decoration firing

High temperature decorations are either transfer-printed, hand painted or sprayed onto the finished porcelain. With in glaze decoration firing, in contrast to under glaze firing, considerably more shades of colour as well as gold and platinum can be melted into the glaze. In only 90 minutes, the porcelain is heated to 1230 ̊ C so that the decoration sinks into the liquefied glaze, which protects it at the same time. Gold decorations are also polished to a high gloss after decoration firing using fibreglass brushes. High temperature decorations remain unaffected by outside influences and are dishwasher safe.


On glaze decoration firing

On glaze decorations are also applied to the finished porcelain using transfers, spraying techniques or hand painting and are fired at temperatures of around 850 to 950 ̊ C.

Care tips

Although porcelain is an exquisite material, it has great design versatility and can be used for a variety of applications. White porcelain with no decorations is always suitable for cleaning in the dishwasher. Porcelain with decorations is only dishwasher safe if the decoration is melted into the glaze (in glaze/under glaze), where the glaze absorbs the decoration. Its colours and luminescence then become indestructible as well as scratch- and rub-resistant.

To ensure that you continue to enjoy your porcelain over the long term, we recommend the following care tips:

-Check whether your porcelain is dishwasher suitable.

-Read the recommendations of your dishwasher manufacturer on handling, cleaning and maintaining your appliance.

-Stack items in the dishwasher in such a way that the porcelain does not touch or rub against other items during the cleaning cycle.

-Always clean black porcelain by hand.


.Dishwasher safe

The product can be placed into the dishwasher without reservation.


.Dishwasher suitable

The colours of this pattern are fired onto the glaze at (at least) 840° C. The resistant colours used achieve a strong bond with the glaze. The product can be cleaned in the dishwasher using the delicates cycle at a temperature of 55°C. Do pay attention to the guidelines of dishwasher and detergent manufacturers on the suitability of their products.


.Precious decoration

This product must always be cleaned by hand. Use of precious colours and artistic decorations means that the item cannot be cleaned in the dishwasher.


.Microwave suitable

The product can be placed into the microwave without reservation.

OOPS! The browser you are using is no longer supported.

Browse Rosenthal.com using the latest version of Microsoft Edge, Chrome, Mozilla Firefox or Safari and prepare to dive into an extraordinary beauty experience.

Junto kaufen ­čĺŤ Kochbuch geschenkt - zur Aktion

Faszination Porzellanfertigung

Material zur Porzellanproduktion auf einem Haufen abgebildet
Türkisfarbige Pigmente in Pulverform zur Färbung von Porzellan in einem Eimer mit Schaufel herausgehoben
Aufbringen eines Rosenthal Stempels auf dem Boden einer Schüssel
Hellblau glasierte Schüssel wird mit einem Pinsel bearbeitet

Im Grunde besteht Porzellan aus drei simplen Komponenten und doch trennen Herstellung, Bearbeitung und Veredelung das Einfache vom Besonderen. Auf dieser Seite zeigen wir Ihnen auf, welche Schritte unsere Produkte durchlaufen, welche handwerklichen Fertigkeiten notwendig sind, welche Herstellmethoden es gibt und mit welchen Verfahren unser Porzellan dekoriert und veredelt werden. Sie werden feststellen, dass die Herstellung des Wei├čen Goldes nicht nur ein ├╝beraus komplexer und langer Prozess ist, sondern dass dieser auch trotz modernster Produktionsanlagen noch immer mit viel Handwerk und Handarbeit verbunden ist. Vor allem aber ÔÇô und das macht unsere Produkte seit mehr als 140 Jahren aus ÔÇô ist es dem Know-how, der Leidenschaft, der Liebe zum Detail und dem gro├čen Erfahrungsschatz unserer rund 700 Mitarbeiter zu verdanken, dass jedes einzelne Produkt der Rosenthal GmbH Ihr Zuhause einzigartig macht.

Know-How und Leidenschaft


Unsere Kollektionen werden in unseren Porzellanfabriken ÔÇ×Rosenthal am Rothb├╝hlÔÇť und ÔÇ×Thomas am KulmÔÇť hergestellt. Wir verf├╝gen ├╝ber einige der modernsten Produktionsst├Ątten der Porzellanindustrie weltweit und erm├Âglichen dank zukunftsweisender Investitionen eine nachhaltige und ressourcenschonende Fertigung.

Doch die beste Technologie ist ohne handwerkliches Geschick nichts wert. Trotz aller Modernisierungen und Automatisierungen wird ein gro├čer Teil des Fertigungsprozesses noch von Hand erledigt: Jeder Produktionsschritt ÔÇô Formgebung, Trocknung, Gl├╝hbrand, Glasur, Glattbrand, Dekoration und Dekorbrand ÔÇô erfordert spezielles handwerkliches und technisches Know-how. Die Porzellanherstellung ist eines der industriellen Produktionsverfahren mit der h├Âchsten Fertigungstiefe. Und es ist unsere Leidenschaft.

700 Menschen arbeiten bei Rosenthal, um sch├Âne und funktionale Produkte zu schaffen, die mit Leidenschaft und Liebe zum Detail hergestellt werden. 

Außenaufnahme des Fabrikgebäudes Rosenthal am Rothbühl in Selb

Rosenthal am Rothbühl

Schwarz-weiß Aufnahme einer Mitarbeiterin in der Porzellanproduktion

Porzellanfertigung

Entwerfen und Modellieren

Rosenthal arbeitet seit vielen Jahrzehnten mit renommierten Designern und K├╝nstlern bei der Gestaltung neuer Produkte zusammen. Eine von der Produktion unabh├Ąngige Entwicklungsabteilung, das Creative Center, ├╝bernimmt die Realisierung der Entw├╝rfe vom ersten Modell bis hin zum fertig dekorierten Service. Die Abteilung Produktentwicklung, der dazu alle notwendigen Werkst├Ątten zur Verf├╝gung stehen, arbeitet f├╝r die Marken Rosenthal, Rosenthal meets Versace, Hutschenreuther, Thomas und Arzberg.


Die Arbeit der Modelleure

Modelleure fertigen in handwerklicher Arbeit und in Zusammenarbeit mit den Designern Modelle aus Gips an, der sich universell verarbeiten l├Ąsst. Runde K├Ârper werden aus massiven Gipszylindern auf der Drehscheibe gedreht, Reliefs in die fertigen Modelle eingraviert. Henkel und Schnaupen schnitzt der Modelleur aus Gipsbl├Âcken heraus. Da Porzellan im Brand um circa 12,5 Prozent kleiner wird und in gl├╝hendem, weichem Zustand durch sein Eigengewicht etwas nach unten absinkt, m├╝ssen die Gipsmodelle entsprechend gr├Â├čer angefertigt werden und bauchige Formen, Henkel und Schnaupen m├╝ssen steiler geformt sein. Letzteres l├Ąsst sich nicht berechnen. Es setzt gro├čes Knowhow und Einf├╝hlungsverm├Âgen voraus.

Kunstharz- und Gips-Arbeitsformen

Nach den ersten, sehr empfindlichen Gipsmodellen werden Formen aus haltbarem Kunstharz oder Silikon angefertigt. Von diesen positiven Kunstharzmodellen werden negative Gips-Arbeitsformen abgegossen. Gips ist por├Âs und saugt, wenn er mit Porzellanmasse in Ber├╝hrung kommt, das Wasser der Masse auf. Eine solche Gipsarbeitsform kann etwa 140 Mal, wenn sie ein Relief hat nur circa 70 Mal, benutzt werden.


Foto: Erste Entwurfskizzen von Designer Sebastian Herkner.

Handgezeichnete Skizze eines Produktionsschrittes in der Porzellanherstellung

Rohstoffaufbereitung

Die wesentlichsten Bestandteile der Porzellanmasse des Hartporzellans sind Kaolin (50 %), Feldspat (25 %) und Quarz (25 %). Diese Rohstoffe werden in gro├čen Trommelm├╝hlen und unter Zusatz von Wasser und Mahlkugeln fein gemahlen und gemischt. Anschlie├čend l├Ąuft die fl├╝ssige Masse ├╝ber ein Magnetband, das alle Eisenteilchen zur├╝ckh├Ąlt, denn diese w├╝rden auf dem fertig gebrannten St├╝ck als braune Flecken sichtbar.

Ein sehr feinmaschiges Sch├╝ttelsieb h├Ąlt weitere Verunreinigungen zur├╝ck. Eine hydraulische Filterpresse entzieht der Masse den gr├Â├čten Teil des Wassers und eine Vakuum-Presse die Luft. Erst jetzt ist die Masse formbar. Rosenthal z├Ąhlt zu den wenigen Herstellern, die Porzellanmasse und Glasur nach geheimer Rezeptur noch selbst herstellen.

Handgezeichnete Skizze der Materialzusammensetzung für die Porzellanproduktion

Herstellen

Drehen

Die Masse wird in entsprechend gro├čen Portionen in die Gipsarbeitsformen der Tassen gelegt, die in eine Maschine, die sogenannte Bechertaktstra├če, eingesetzt sind. Eine Metallschablone senkt sich und formt drehend die Innenseite der Tasse.

Nach dem Trocknen l├Âst sie sich von der Gipsform ab und l├Ąsst sich herausnehmen. Die rauen R├Ąnder werden mit nassen Schw├Ąmmen bearbeitet, bis sie gut gerundet, glatt und gleichm├Ą├čig sind. Die Tassenhenkel werden separat gegossen. Sorgf├Ąltig werden die Gie├čgrate von Hand entfernt, bevor die Henkel an die Tassenbecher angarniert werden.


Foto: Eindrehen von Bechern an Automaten.

Darstellung des Drehprozesses anhand eines Bechers in der Porzellanproduktion

Isostatisches Pressen

Ein weiteres Verfahren ist das isostatische Trocken-Pressen von Tellern. Dazu wird eine Porzellanmasse verwendet, die aus winzig kleinen, spr├╝hgetrockneten K├╝gelchen besteht. Dieses Granulat wird in die Pressform eingef├╝llt und unter hohem Druck verdichtet. Die f├╝r das Pressen notwendigen Werkzeuge sind zweigeteilt, in Oberstempel und Unterstempel. Der Oberstempel formt in der Regel die Artikeloberseite und ist starr. Der Unterstempel formt die Artikelr├╝ckseite und ist zur isostatischen Ausformung der Artikel mit einer elastischen Membrane versehen. Durch Aufeinanderfahren von Ober- und Unterstempel entsteht ein allseits geschlossener F├╝llraum, in den durch eine verschlie├čbare ├ľffnung mit Hilfe von Druckluft Granulat geblasen wird. Durch Druck von circa 280 bar wird der Artikel gepresst und ├╝berall gleichm├Ą├čig verdichtet. Die Artikel m├╝ssen nur am Rand verputzt werden. Dann schlie├čt sich der normale Fertigungsablauf an. Das Pressen ist ein rationelleres Verfahren. Es bietet neben einer Reihe von Vorteilen auch eine Qualit├Ątsverbesserung: Die Teller und Platten sind sehr gleichm├Ą├čig.

Eine Servierplatte wird in Handarbeit trocken gepresst

Gießen

Alle ├╝brigen Porzellanteile, z.B. Kannen, Henkel, Schnaupen, Dosen, ovale Platten und Figurenteile, werden in Gipsformen gegossen. Dazu verwendet man eine Porzellanmasse, die durch Zusatz von wenig Wasser und anderen Verfl├╝ssigungsmitteln gie├čf├Ąhig gemacht wurde. Die zwei- oder mehrteiligen Formen saugen, wenn sie mit fl├╝ssiger Masse, dem Schlicker, gef├╝llt sind, das Wasser an, sodass an der Gipswand eine gleichm├Ą├čige, feste Masseschicht, ÔÇ×der ScherbenÔÇť, entsteht. Die restliche, noch fl├╝ssige Porzellanmasse, wird wieder aus den Formen herausgegossen. Henkel, Schnaupen, Tassenf├╝├če, Deckelkn├Âpfe werden, wenn gesondert gefertigt, mit halbfl├╝ssiger Porzellanmasse, dem Garnierschlicker, von Hand an den eigentlichen K├Ârper ÔÇ×angarniertÔÇť. Porzellanfiguren sind ebenfalls aus vielen, einzeln gegossenen Teilen von Hand zusammengesetzt. Die Gie├čn├Ąhte, die alle gegossenen St├╝cke dort aufweisen, wo die Gipsformen zusammengesetzt sind, werden mit Klingen und Schw├Ąmmen von Hand gegl├Ąttet.

Foto: Die Gipsform wird mit verfl├╝ssigter Porzellanmasse ÔÇ×SchlickerÔÇť bef├╝llt.

Eine Gipsform wird mit verflüssigter Porzellanmasse befüllt

Druckgießen

Bei diesem Gie├čverfahren zur Herstellung von eckigen und ovalen Platten wird der fl├╝ssige Porzellanschlicker in eine zweigeteilte, por├Âse Kunststoff-Form gepumpt und unter Druck gesetzt. Dadurch entweicht das Wasser durch die offenen Porenkan├Ąle der Kunststoff-Form, w├Ąhrend die Porzellanmasse in der Form zur├╝ckbleibt. Danach wird die Form automatisch ge├Âffnet, und der Artikel kann mit einem Saugheber herausgenommen werden.


Foto: Der gegossene und noch sehr weiche ÔÇ×ScherbenÔÇť verl├Ąsst zum ersten Mal die Gipsform.

Per Hand wird die Gipsform entfernt und eine Teekanne kommt zum Vorschein

Brennen

Gl├╝hbrand

Nachdem das noch rohe Porzellan vorgetrocknet und bei circa 950╦ÜC zum ersten Mal vergl├╝ht ist, ist es nicht mehr wasserl├Âslich, aber noch por├Âs und wasseraufnahmef├Ąhig.

Glasieren

Das vergl├╝hte Porzellan wird mit der Firmenmarke gestempelt und glasiert. Von Standringen und Tassenr├Ąndern wird die Glasur sofort wieder mit nassen Schw├Ąmmen entfernt, damit das Porzellan w├Ąhrend des zweiten Brandes nicht festklebt. Die Glasur selbst besteht aus Quarz, Feldspat, wenig Kaolin und einem hohen Anteil verschiedener Flussmittel. Die sehr quarzhaltige und dadurch nach dem Brand besonders harte Glasur wird durch Eintauchen in das Glasurbad von Hand oder maschinell auf das Porzellan gebracht. Bei besonders empfindlichen St├╝cken (z. B. ┬╗Zauberfl├Âte┬ź) wird die Glasur in einem speziellen Spritzverfahren aufgetragen. Im Glattbrand schmilzt sie bevor der Scherben ÔÇ×dichtÔÇť wird. Dadurch entsteht eine sehr innige Verbindung von Porzellanscherben und Glasur.

Glattbrand

Im Glatt-Brand bei einer Temperatur bis circa 1400╦ÜC schwindet der Artikel und wird wasserdicht. Der Werkstoff sintert zu einem harten, feinen, durchscheinenden Porzellan. Dabei macht die Masse eine chemische Ver├Ąnderung und eine Formver├Ąnderung durch. Nach dem Glattbrand ist das Porzellan 12,5 Prozent kleiner (Schwindung) als bei der Ausformung. Auch der Glattbrand erfolgt heute im Freibrand auf modernen Brenntisch- oder Rollen├Âfen.

Porzellanarten

Hartporzellan

Nach Gl├╝h- und Glattbrand ist das Porzellan trotz gr├Â├čter Feinheit hart, schlagsicher und transparent. Hartporzellan besitzt h├Âchste Kratzfestigkeit gegen Messerstahl und ist unempfindlich gegen S├Ąuren, ausgenommen Flusss├Ąure. Es ist witterungsbest├Ąndig und ver├Ąndert sich nach dem letzten Brand nicht mehr, ganz gleich wie alt es wird. Es ist f├╝r den Mikrowellenherd geeignet. Ausnahmen sind Dekorationen mit Edelmetallen (Gold, Platin). Die wei├če Farbe des Porzellans entsteht durch den sogenannten Reduktionsbrand, das hei├čt es wird unter Sauerstoffmangel gebrannt.

Eine weiße TAC Teekanne wird aus einer Masse an vielen Teekanne heraus- und in den Fokus genommen

Schwarzes Porzellan

Schwarzes Porzellan ist ein spezielles Produkt von Rosenthal. Ein so kostbares Porzellan wie Porcelaine noire gibt man nicht in die Sp├╝lmaschine. Man w├Ąscht es mit der Hand, am besten mit warmem Wasser, und trocknet es sofort mit einem weichen Tuch ab. Man sollte vermeiden, Speisen mit Zitronen- oder Essigs├Ąure f├╝r l├Ąngere Zeit mit dem Geschirr in Verbindung zu bringen. Es besteht sonst die Gefahr der Fleckenbildung. Schwarzes Porzellan ist f├╝r die Mikrowelle nicht geeignet.

Zwei schwarze TAC Teekannen stehen hintereinander auf einer Ablage

Bearbeiten und Sortieren

Schleifen

Die unglasierten Standringe und Auflagefl├Ąchen des Porzellans sind auch nach dem zweiten Brand noch rau. Durch mehrfaches Schleifen und Polieren werden sie so bearbeitet, dass sie glatt, angenehm und schmutzabweisend werden.

Darstellung des Schleifprozesses anhand der Unterseite einer TAC Teekanne

Sortierung

Das undekorierte Porzellan, auch fertige Wei├čware genannt, wird von Fachpersonal sorgf├Ąltig sortiert. Die typischen Materialeigenschaften und der keramische Fertigungsprozess, besonders der Brennprozess, f├╝hren grunds├Ątzlich zu Toleranzen und geringf├╝gigen Abweichungen zwischen den einzelnen St├╝cken. Die Sortierarbeit trennt sehr genau nach Graden solcher Abweichungen und scheidet St├╝cke mit Fehlern aus

Mitarbeiterinnen in der Produktion sortieren weiße Rosenthal Teller

Dekorieren und Veredeln

Dekore

Dekore auf Porzellan beleben das Wei├č des Materials durch ihre Farben. Ein Service oder eine Vase k├Ânnen durch einen reichen Golddekor festlich und repr├Ąsentativ wirken. Das gleiche Service, die gleiche Vase mit einem farbenfrohen Blumendekor wirken freundlich und heiter. Au├čerdem werden durch verschiedene Dekore unterschiedliche K├Ąuferschichten angesprochen. Darum l├Ąsst die Abteilung Produktentwicklung eine Vielzahl von Dekoren von namhaften K├╝nstlern entwerfen, um daraus nach strengen Gesichtspunkten die besten auszuw├Ąhlen.

Buntes Dekor auf einem Teller der Magic Garden Dining Collection von Rosenthal

Gut zu wissen

Neben Handmalerei gibt es heute vielf├Ąltigste hochwertige Dekorverfahren. K├╝nstlerentw├╝rfe werden in einen Zeichencomputer eingespeist und in sehr aufwendiger Arbeit f├╝r die jeweiligen Serviceteile so umgearbeitet, dass sie sp├Ąter auf eine dreidimensionale Form ├╝bertragen werden k├Ânnen. Dabei bleibt der Charakter der K├╝nstlerhandschrift voll erhalten. Anschlie├čend werden die so ausgearbeiteten Dekore auf ein mit einer Leimschicht versehenes Papier aufgedruckt, damit die Farben sich leichter vom Papier auf Porzellan ├╝bertragen lassen. Die Farben selbst werden im Siebdruckverfahren auf das Papier gebracht. Dazu werden sehr feinmaschige Stahlsiebe verwendet, die die Farbe nur an den gew├╝nschten Stellen durchlassen. Jeder Farbton wird einzeln gedruckt, das hei├čt dass f├╝r jede Farbe auch ein entsprechendes Sieb hergestellt werden muss. Beim Druckvorgang selbst werden die einzelnen Farbt├Âne nacheinander und passgenau nebeneinander gedruckt. Beim Siebdruckverfahren k├Ânnen die Farben verh├Ąltnism├Ą├čig stark aufgetragen werden. Das erm├Âglicht auf dem Porzellan die satte Leuchtkraft der Farben nach dem Brand. Ist der Druckbogen fertig, wird er noch mit einer Lackschicht ├╝berzogen. Zum Dekorieren des Porzellans wird das Bild in Wasser gelegt, um die Leimschicht aufzul├Âsen. Dann kann die hauchd├╝nne, nasse Farbfolie vorsichtig auf das Porzellan ├╝bertragen werden.

Dekorfolie

Die h├Ąufigste Technik, Porzellan zu dekorieren, ist das Auflegen einer hauchd├╝nnen, nassen Farbfolie. Dieses Auflegen erfordert gro├če Genauigkeit, Geduld, eine sichere Hand und gute Augen. Heute werden die Dekorfolien nicht mehr nur f├╝r die Dekoration von Servicen verwendet, sondern auch f├╝r kostbare, limitierte Serien, die in Handmalerei nicht auszuf├╝hren sind, ohne dabei den Originalentwurf des K├╝nstlers mehr oder weniger zu verf├Ąlschen.

Aufbringen einer Farbfolie auf ein Porzellanobjekt in Handarbeit

Handmalerei

Handgemalt werden L├╝sterdekore, Gold- und Platinb├Ąnder, Henkel, Schnaupen und vergoldete Reliefs. Die Goldschicht wird nach dem Einbrand mit Glashaarb├╝rsten auf Hochglanz poliert.


Foto: Das ikonenhafte Medusenhaupt der Rosenthal meets Versace Kollektionen wird in Handarbeit vergoldet und erscheint im ungebrannten Zustand braun.

Der Medusenkopf wir per Hand mit einem Pinsel in ungebranntem Zustand bemalt

Fond-Dekore

Sollen gr├Â├čere Fl├Ąchen eines Porzellanst├╝cks mit einer Farbe bedeckt sein, so wird dieser Farbfond mit einer Spritzpistole gleichm├Ą├čig auf das Porzellan aufgespritzt. Dabei werden diejenigen Fl├Ąchen, die wei├č bleiben sollen, zuvor mit Lack isoliert, der nach dem Spritzen wieder entfernt werden muss. Nach dem Abziehen der Lackschicht und vor dem Brennen werden die wei├čen Fl├Ąchen des Porzellans sorgf├Ąltig geputzt. Kleinste Farbr├╝ckst├Ąnde w├╝rden nach dem Brand als Flecken sichtbar werden.


Foto: Um per Hand einen gleichm├Ą├čigen Farbauftrag zu gew├Ąhrleisten, bedarf es eines gro├čen Erfahrungsschatzes.

Farbauftrag auf eine Schüssel mittels einer Spritzpistole

Kombination matt - glänzend

Es gibt verschiedene M├Âglichkeiten, die Kombination matt ÔÇô gl├Ąnzend herzustellen.

  1. Eine Mattglasur wird mit einer Spritzpistole auf das Porzellan wie Farbfond aufgespritzt und anschlie├čend aufgebrannt.
  2. Glasiertes Porzellan kann durch Sandstrahlen mattiert werden.
  3. Vor dem Eintauchen in das Glasurbad werden die Teile, die matt, unglasiert bleiben sollen, mit Wachs abgedeckt. Das Wachs verbrennt beim Glattbrand.
Darstellung der Bodenstempel von Rosenthal meets Versace Bechern

Dekorbrand

Hochtemperatur-Dekor-Brand

Hochtemperatur-Dekore werden mittels Farbfolien, Handmalerei oder Fondspritzen auf das fertige Porzellan aufgetragen. Im Gegensatz zum Unterglasurbrand kann man beim Inglasur- Dekorbrand wesentlich mehr Farbt├Âne und auch Gold und Platin in die Glasur einschmelzen. In 90 Minuten wird das Porzellan auf 1230╦ÜC erhitzt, sodass die Dekore in die verfl├╝ssigte Glasur einsinken und von ihr gesch├╝tzt werden. Golddekore werden zus├Ątzlich nach dem Dekorbrand mit Glasfaserb├╝rsten hochglanzpoliert. Hochtemperatur-Dekore sind unempfindlich gegen Oberfl├Ącheneinwirkungen und sp├╝lmaschinenfest.


Aufglasur-Dekor-Brand

Aufglasur-Dekore werden ebenfalls durch Farbfolien, Fondspritzen oder in Handmalerei auf das fertige Porzellan aufgetragen und bei circa 850 bis 950˚C aufgebrannt. Dekorbrand.

Pflegetipps & Symbole

So anspruchsvoll das Material Porzellan ist, so vielseitig sind seine Gestaltungs- und Einsatzm├Âglichkeiten. Wei├čes Porzellan ohne Dekor ist uneingeschr├Ąnkt f├╝r die Reinigung in der Sp├╝lmaschine geeignet. Porzellan mit Dekor ist dann ÔÇ×sp├╝lmaschinenfestÔÇť, wenn das Dekor in die Glasur eingeschmolzen ist (Inglasur/Unterglasur). Hierbei sinkt der Dekor in die Glasur ein. Dadurch wird er unzerst├Ârbar in Farbe und Leuchtkraft, er ist kratz- und abriebfest.

Um lange Freude an Ihrem Porzellan zu haben, empfehlen wir die folgenden Pflegetipps:

-Beachten Sie die Sp├╝lmaschineneignung Ihres Porzellans.

-Lesen Sie die Empfehlungen Ihres Sp├╝lmaschinenherstellers zur Handhabung, Reinigung und Instandhaltung Ihrer Maschine.

-Stellen Sie Sp├╝lgut so ein, dass ein Aneinanderschlagen des Porzellans w├Ąhrend des Sp├╝lvorgangs nicht m├Âglich ist.

-Reinigen Sie schwarzes Porzellan immer von Hand.


.Sp├╝lmaschinenfest 

Das Produkt kann bedenkenlos in der Sp├╝lmaschine gereinigt werden.


.Sp├╝lmaschinengeeignet 

Bei diesem Dekor werden die Farben bei mindestens 840┬░C auf die Glasur gebrannt. Durch die Verwendung widerstandsf├Ąhiger Farben wird eine starke Verbindung mit der Glasur erreicht. Das Produkt kann bei Anwendung des Schongangs (55┬░) in der Sp├╝lmaschine gereinigt werden. Achten Sie auch auf die Hinweise der Hersteller von Sp├╝lmaschinen und Sp├╝lmitteln ├╝ber die Schoneigenschaften ihrer Produkte.


.Hochwert-Dekor 

Dieses Produkt sollte unbedingt von Hand gereinigt werden. Die Verwendung hochwertiger Farben und die k├╝nstlerische Gestaltung erfordern einen Verzicht auf die Sp├╝lmaschine.


.Mikrowellengeeignet 

Das Produkt kann bedenkenlos in der Mikrowelle benutzt werden.

OOPS! The browser you are using is no longer supported.

Browse Rosenthal.com using the latest version of Microsoft Edge, Chrome, Mozilla Firefox or Safari and prepare to dive into an extraordinary beauty experience.